Hirini Mead
Distinguished Professor Sir Hirini Moko Mead
Professor Sir Hirini Mead is a prominent and influential educator, scholar, historian, author, artist, writer and Māori leader whose contribution to education, Māori arts, language and culture are significant spanning over six decades.
Layne Harvey
Judge Layne Harvey
Judge Harvey was appointed to the Māori Land Court bench on 1 September 2002 and is the resident Judge for the Aotea and Tākitimu Māori Land Court districts and a presiding officer of the Waitangi Tribunal.
Harawira Gardiner
Sir Harawira (Wira) Gardiner
Sir Harawira Gardiner is a long serving senior public servant, soldier, educator, scholar, historian, author and Māori leader who continues to build relationships between Māori and the Crown in the context of Treaty settlement issues, fisheries, broadcasting, local and regional government and tertiary education.
Hōhepa Mason
Dr Hōhepa (Joe) Mason
Dr Hōhepa Mason is a highly regarded Māori leader, renowned orator and a custodian of customary knowledge including hapū whakapapa, waiata and the history surrounding many tribal tīpuna.
Materoa Dodd
Ms Materoa Dodd
Ms Materoa Dodd has served in leadership, academic and governance positions that have significantly contributed to education, iwi, community and Māori women’s development for over thirty years.
Te Kei Merito
Mr Te Kei Merito
Mr Te Kei Merito is a highly respected Kaumatua and widely acknowledged cultural expert (Pūkenga) of Ngāti Awa. In 1959.
Aubrey Temara
Mr Aubrey Tokawhakaea Temara
Mr Aubrey Temara is a senior leader of Ngāi Tūhoe iwi, an elder and convener of one of the Presbyterian Church’s standing committees.
Rauru Kirikiri
Mr Rauru Kirikiri
Mr Rauru Kirikiri is a Wellington-based consultant, specialising in a range of Māori related issues including policy development, hui facilitation, strategic planning and cultural support for government departments and Ministers, environmental management matters and Treaty of Waitangi claims negotiations.
Tuihana Pook
Mrs Tuihana Pook
Mrs Pook has been involved with education for many years with a focus on Māori, te reo Māori, and supporting her local community.
Adrienne von Tunzelmann
Ms Adrienne von Tunzelmann
Ms von Tunzelmann is Principal of McKinlay Douglas Ltd and combines an extensive public sector background with in-depth experience and knowledge of governance roles, policy review in central and local government, business enterprise and community sector issues.
Charlie Tawhiao
Mr Charlie Tawhiao
Mr Charlie Tawhiao is the Chair of both Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Te Rangi Iwi Trust and the Ngai Te Rangi Settlement Trust; and General Manager at Moana Communications in the Bay of Plenty.
Natalie Coates
Ms Natalie Coates
Natalie is currently a member of the New Zealand Council of Law Reporting and has held positions as: the co-director of the Aotearoa/New Zealand Centre for Indigenous Peoples and the Law; Associate Director on Ngāti Awa Group Holdings Limited; and Associate Director on Māori Investments Limited.

Council is governing body of Awanuiārangi

The Council is the governing body of Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi and is responsible for the overall performance of the institution. Its powers, duties, functions, and responsibilities are set out in the Education Act 1989.

The responsibilities are similar to those expected of universities and polytechnics with added special responsibilities that are expected of a Wānanga.

Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi is a Wānanga as defined in the Education Act and is registered as such since 1997.  A Wānanga is characterised by teaching and research that maintains, advances and disseminates knowledge, develops intellectual independence and assists the application of knowledge regarding āhuatanga Māori (Māori tradition) according to tikanga Māori (Māori custom).

Āhuatanga Māori and tikanga Māori responsibilities are unique to Wānanga and have an impact on how the Wānanga looks, feels, operates and behaves.

The structure and operative style of the Council reflects the unique nature of Wānanga. While the Council and management are expected to meet the same compliance requirements as larger institutions in the university and polytechnic sectors, we are mindful that we are operating in Māori communities around the country, our students are predominately Māori and our staff are mainly Māori. 

The Council is the governing body of Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi

The Council is the governing body of Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi

The tasks we face are challenging

Management, teaching staff and Council aim to make a significant contribution to tertiary education and our country.

The shape of Council is influenced by the environment in which we operate and by the Act that defines what we are.

Thus the Council is fundamentally a partnership between the founding tribe Ngāti Awa and the Crown. Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Awa appoints six of the members and the Crown appoints four members. The Council will co-opt up to two other members who provide expertise in specialist areas relevant to Awanuiārangi.