Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi Executive Director Academic appointed to PBRF Sector Reference Group

Published date : Mon, 11 October 2021 10:54 AM
Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi Executive Director Academic appointed to PBRF Sector Reference Group


Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi congratulates Associate Professor Vaughan Bidois, Executive Director Academic, at the Wānanga, on his appointment to the PBRF Sector Reference Group (SRG).

Associate Professor Bidois joins an experienced group of 15 education experts in Aotearoa (listed below).

The SRG has been set up to provide advice and recommendations to Cabinet on operational changes required for the design of the 2025 Performance-Based Research Fund (PBRF) Quality Evaluation. The SRG’s recommendations will follow a public consultation process.

With a strong teaching background at both secondary and tertiary education levels, Associate Professor Bidois has extensive knowledge in education, critical pedagogy and theory, cultural studies, identity theory and politics kaupapa Māori research, including investigating Māori literacies achievement and success in a tertiary context. He completed his PhD in Māori Studies through the University of Otago in 2012. He joined the Wānanga in 2014 as Senior Lecturer/Researcher in the Schools of Undergraduate and Graduate Studies and has since been promoted to Executive Director - Academic.

“I’m looking forward to working together with the SRG members to ensure that the PBRF as a process and funding system recognises and acknowledges all forms of research excellence and provides equal opportunities for all TEOs within the tertiary sector to build their research capability and capacity,” says Associate Professor Bidois.

“Building our knowledge and understanding of Mātauranga Māori, Pacific, and indigenous-based research is critical to shaping the future of our nation, so a focus on providing opportunities to grow research and researchers in this space is an important conversation to have.”

Chief Executive of the Wānanga, Professor Wiremu Doherty — who was appointed Co-Chair of the SRG in May 2021, along with Professor Wendy Larner — says it’s great to have Associate Professor Bidois’ expertise in the Group.

“I have no doubt Associate Professor Bidois’ experience, particularly in the areas of Mātauranga Māori and Kaupapa Māori research, will contribute significantly to the eventual establishment of the 2025 PBRF Quality Evaluation.”


The SRG membership is:

  • Dr Clive Aspin (Ngāti Maru, Ngāti Whanaunga, Ngāti Tamaterā), Associate Dean Māori, Senior Lecturer in Health, Te Herenga Waka Victoria University of Wellington
  • Dr Maria Baker, Pouwhakahaere Matua CEO, Te Rau Ora
  • Associate Professor Vaughan Bidois (Ngāti Ranginui, Ngaitai), Executive Director Academic, Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi
  • Professor Craig Bunt (Te Ātiawa), Professor of Agricultural Innovation, University of Otago
  • Dr Christine Cheyne, Faculty Research Co-ordinator, Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology (Te Pūkenga)
  • Dr Donna Hendry, PBRF and Publications Manager, University of Otago
  • Professor Robert Jahnke (Ngāi Taharora, Te Whānau a Iritekura, Te Whānau a Rakairoa o Ngāti Porou), Professor of Māori Visual Arts, Toioho ki Āpiti, Massey University
  • Professor Bryony James, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research, Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato University of Waikato
  • Professor Jenny Lee-Morgan (Waikato – Ngāti Mahuta, Te Ahiwaru), Professor of Māori Research, Director Ngā Wai ā Te Tūī Māori and Indigenous Research Centre, Unitec (Te Pūkenga)
  • Professor Kathryn McPherson, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research, Auckland University of Technology
  • Dr Sereana Naepi, Lecturer, School of Social Sciences, University of Auckland and Co-chair Royal Society Te Apārangi Early Career Researchers Forum
  • Professor Steven Ratuva, Director Macmillan Brown Centre for Pacific Studies, University of Canterbury
  • Professor Karen Scott, Faculty of Law, University of Canterbury
  • Associate Professor Yvonne Te Ruki Rangi o Tangaroa Underhill-Sem, Pacific Studies, Te Wānanga o Waipapa, Faculty of Arts, University of Auckland
  • Associate Professor Melinda Webber (Ngāti Whakaue, Ngāpuhi, Ngati Kahu), Te Tumu, Faculty of Education and Social Work, University of Auckland


About the Performance-Based Research Fund (PBRF) Quality Evaluation

The Quality Evaluation is an assessment of the research performance of staff at participating tertiary education organisations (TEOs) by expert peer review panels. It is held periodically and is the largest component of the PBRF. It is based on the submission and assessment of Evidence Portfolios. Peer review panels assess Evidence Portfolios against agreed standards and this process is moderated by the Principal Moderator and Deputy Moderators. Participating TEOs are also required to review their staff against the eligibility criteria and participate in the audit processes.

The SRG received a total of 59 nominations from a range of tertiary education organisations across the country, and the resulting membership consists of a group of talented and diverse individuals who are representative of the different TEOs, academic disciplines, career stages, and population groups of Aotearoa.


For more information on the 2025 Quality Evaluation and the SRG, click here.

Associate Professor Vaughan Bidois, Executive Director Academic at Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi

Associate Professor Vaughan Bidois, Executive Director Academic at Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi