Skip Navigation LinksHome > Programmes > School of Iwi Development > Community Education

Community Education

Community Education


These courses provide foundation knowledge and skills centred on your marae and its cultural uniqueness. The programme helps to develop and strengthen Māori tikanga, āhuatanga and mātauranga Māori. Learning is marae-based and focuses on the cultural uniqueness of hapū and iwi. Māori communities that participate in these programmes create an interest in life-long learning.

Papers: Te Reo, Karanga, Whakairo, Whaikōrero, Mau Rākau, Waiata, Raranga, Korowai, Whakapapa, Tikanga, Karakia, Waiata Whakangahau.

View eBooklet

Start Date: 
Finish Date: 
Applications Close: 
Delivery Mode:
Noho marae
Total Fee for 2018:

N.B. For more information regarding fees, please see our fees page.


Entry is open to applicants who meet the following requirements:

Minimum Age: 
16 years
Minimum Qualification/s: 

Open entry.

Special Entry Requirements:
To participate in our courses, a marae and/or other Māori organisations* – representative must first participate in a Te Apa Marae Kura presentation conducted by the School of Iwi Development. For more information please contact our Regional Monitors or Programme Co-ordinator.
*As approved by the Programme Coordinator.
Further Study:
  • Te Pōkaitahi Reo (Rumaki, Reo Rua) (Te Kaupae 1)
  • Te Pōkaitahi Reo (Rumaki, Reo Rua) (Te Kaupae 2)
  • Te Pōkaitahi Reo (Rumaki, Reo Rua) (Te Kaupae 3)
  • Te Pōkaitahi Reo (Rumaki, Reo Rua) (Te Kaupae 4)
  • Te Pōkaitahi Reo Māori (Rumaki) (Te Kaupae 5)
  • Te Pōkaitahi Reo (Rumaki)(Te Kaupae 6)
  • National Certificate in Seafood Māori (Customary Fishing);
  • Certificate in Te Wai Māori (Freshwater Management);
  • Te Pou hono ki Marae Atea (Lvl 4)
  • Te Pou hono ki Mahi Marae (Lvl 4)
  • Te Pou hono ki Toi (Lvl 4)
  • Te Pou hono ki Taiao (Lvl 4)
  • Te Pou hono ki Wairua (Lvl 4)
  • Bachelor of Mātauranga Māori